Powerful Poetry from Strand High Student


-Marco Peek

Poetry, a universal form of confessing feelings, thoughts and even ideas. Poetry is all around you, it is in your heart, it is in nature and it is in Strand High. A talented poet, Luke Booysen, recently gave me this poem on a foolscap folio paper and I thought it might be a good idea to share it with you, the readers of the Suidooster.

A Father’s guidance          by Luke Booysen

You need a father figure in this life

it’s an acknowledged fact

someone to protect you from strife

though sometimes without tact.

 

Most rely on a pat on the back

or a, “Well done chap.”

But I never needed that,

not once in my entire life.

 

I relied on a feeling.

 

I don’t always notice it

but I know it’s always there

watching over me with care.

 

And nights when I hear

the rumble of the earth.

Of stone striking stone

Or the weeping of a woman

 

Nights of soul-tearing agony

of regret and loss and misery

I feel its protective hand

ensconcing me.

 

I don’t need a pat on the back

or a, “Well done chap,”

because

I know my Father

is watching from above.

Jou kommentaar...

